From Social Networking to Social Learning

educlippertwitterBeing assigned with Social Learning is good news for me. I love Social Networks. I have an account for almost every one, even if I don’t use them all (sidenote: I like Twitter, Facebook, Vine, and, embarrassingly, Snapchat).

I decided to go with Twitter because I like it and I know it’s the easiest/fastest way to get information that I could use. The challenge, besides figuring out how to manage two accounts without needing to log in and out of my iPhone app, is to actually GET something out of it. My experience with Twitter has been solely entertainment-based.

So far, I have spent time building my “Following” list. I’m working on slowing down my timeline scrolling to actually absorb what people are tweeting (I tend to speed through my timeline, barely reading anything). Once I am following enough people, I’ll start organizing them into categories.

I haven’t exactly tweeted anything noteworthy yet. This is another thing I need to work on, because I spend an inordinate amount of time composing my tweets, trying to word them exactly right and make them interesting.  But I did have an exciting exchange with eduClipper. Exciting meaning they tweeted at me. I love it when I get tweeted by a company or celebrity.

I once had a similar experience with Kim Kardashian, but I won’t talk about that here.

Anyway, I stumbled upon the site eduClipper, which is like a Pinterest for teachers. Since I have a Pinterest account (of course), it was easy to figure out how it worked. I love it! I find that, on Pinterest, much of their education section consists of pins targeted to elementary teachers. In eduClipper, I was able to specify my grade range (7-12), as well as other categories of interest, and so I’ve really been able to find useful websites and other resources. One hour and 10 Clipboards later, I went ahead and tweeted my happiness and got a response:

Image

It looks like they tweet back to most of their fans, but I still feel special. I’m hoping to help get the word out so more people will begin using this site and it will expand – I’d love an app!

PS. Follow me on Twitter @nEduDani

2 thoughts on “From Social Networking to Social Learning

  1. Thanks for letting me know about eduClipper. I’m a newbie and am looking for all the good stuff I can find!

  2. After reading your post I decided that I had to check out eduClipper. I was a little hesitant when you said that eduClipper was like Pinterest because I don’t get the point of Pinterest. But I took a look a edClipper and thought it was pretty cool. Just from browsing around for a few minutes I was able to find resources like World History lesson plans. I could see this site being very helpful so thank you for letting us know about it.

Leave a Reply

